Finding cheap car insurance in Mississippi is far more challenging than it should be. Each car insurance company takes a different approach when determining insurance premiums, so the quotes you receive from one carrier can be wildly different from the next.
To make the process of finding affordable car insurance as easy as possible, our researchers compared quotes from nine top carriers to find the best rates for the following types of drivers:
Best Rates For Drivers With No Recent Accidents
If you’re a responsible driver with a clean crash record, you can expect to be rewarded with very cheap auto insurance in Mississippi. If you were found at-fault for a recent crash, you might be able to lower your rates in the future by making an effort to drive safely for several consecutive years.
Our estimates are based on a 29-year-old motorist who was shopping for auto insurance with 50/100/25 liability coverage limits and the same limits for uninsured motorist coverage.
Best Rates For Teen Drivers
Our study used an 18-year-old driver who had a clean record and sought the minimum required coverage in Mississippi. Unfortunately, even if a young driver hasn’t been in an accident or cited for a traffic infraction, insurance companies will still see that person as more of a liability due to lack of experience. Our Geeks determined that Allstate and Progressive offer the best auto insurance quotes for teenagers in MS.
Best SR22 Insurance Rates For Drivers With A DUI
Being forced to pay more for auto insurance is one of the most expensive consequences of a DUI or DWI. If you’ve been convicted of drunk driving, it’s a good idea to shop around for SR22 car insurance companies that cater to this driver category.
Our study revealed that Progressive offers cheap SR22 car insurance rates for drivers with a DUI conviction in Mississippi. Our estimated monthly quotes are based on averages for 29-year-old female and male drivers who had been convicted of one DUI involving a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent.
Best Rates For Senior Drivers
The average senior drives less than the average young adult, so their car insurance rates are often cheaper. In our study, we looked at quotes for a driver age 65 who commuted 4,000 miles every year. Progressive was determined to offer the lowest rates for drivers in Mississippi who fall into this age group.
The drivers in our study owned a 2014 Toyota Corolla and commuted 12,000 miles per year. The estimated monthly insurance premiums are based on averages of females and males from five zip codes. The liability coverage limits for all driver types except teenagers were 50/100/25 with the same limits in uninsured motorist coverage.
How Much Auto Insurance Liability Coverage Are Drivers Required To Carry In Mississippi?
In Mississippi, all drivers must carry auto insurance that would cover $25,000 for bodily injury to one person, $50,000 for total bodily injury in one collision, and $25,000 for property damage.
What Are The Consequences Of Driving Without Car Insurance In Mississippi?
If you are caught driving without auto insurance in Mississippi, you will face a $500 fine and a driver’s license suspension for one year or until you show Proof of Insurance. Unlike other states, the penalties for driving uninsured in Mississippi do not get worse with subsequent offenses.
If you were cited for driving without insurance, you can get the fine reduced to $100 by submitting proof of future financial responsibility (Form SR22) before your hearing. If you submit proof that you have a current insurance policy before your hearing, the license suspension, fine, and court costs may be waived.
How To Reduce Your Car Insurance Rates In Mississippi
Everybody likes to save money, and one of the easiest ways to do so is to get your car insurance rates reduced. What you might not know is that lowering your car insurance rates could be as easy as contacting your current provider and asking about the discounts available to you—and that’s just the start.
Here are the factors that have the biggest impact on your car insurance premiums:
- Whether you’ve been found liable for any recent collisions;
- Whether you’ve been cited for traffic infractions and their degree of severity;
- Any history of driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs;
- How long you’ve been licensed to drive;
- Your location;
- Whether the vehicle you’re getting insured has a high rate of claims;
- Your yearly mileage; and
- How you will use the car being insured.
Now that you know the factors that influence your premiums, it’s time to create a plan to prove to your insurance provider that your monthly rates should be lower. Consider these five strategies:
- Make a concerted effort to avoid accidents for consecutive years;
- Never violate traffic laws;
- Don’t drive after drinking alcohol;
- Find a car that is cheap to insure (low rate of claims, low horsepower); and
- Drive less often to lower your yearly mileage.
If your insurance company doesn’t have a discount available for you, try getting quotes from other companies to find out if you would save money by switching providers.
4 Tips To Strengthen Your Auto Insurance Claim’s Chance Of Being Approved
The aftermath of a serious collision is often rife with anxiety and nervous tension. It’s easy to feel overwhelmed, but your statements and actions immediately after a crash could impact your ability to file a successful car insurance claim.
If you were involved in an accident, it is critical that you report the incident to your auto insurance provider as soon as possible. You should also take the following steps to improve your claim’s chance of being approved:
- Never lie your insurance provider;
- Take pictures of the accident scene;
- Get a copy of the accident report; and
- Record the contact information of any witnesses.
Your top priority after any wreck is to seek medical attention for yourself and anyone else who was injured. If you were not seriously hurt, be sure to take photos of the crash scene including any property damage, injuries, skid marks, the positions of vehicles, and traffic signs.
Even if nobody appears to be severely injured, you should still contact the police. An officer will compile an accident report that contains details about the time, date, location, and cause of your crash. That accident report may help you prove liability.
Then, exchange insurance and contact information with all drivers involved. You should also write down the full names, phone numbers, and email addresses of any eyewitnesses.
Can A Car Insurance Company In Mississippi Charge Me More If I Was Not At-Fault For A Collision?
Yes. Even if another driver caused the accident, your insurance rates may still increase. This is because multiple drivers often share fault for collisions, so your insurance company will see you as a greater liability.