Most people want to pay less for car insurance, but finding cheap rates in New Jersey is a tedious process since there are dozens of companies claiming to offer the best quotes. This is because each insurance provider has a different formula for calculating premiums, so your specific driver profile will ultimately determine which company is the best fit for your needs and budget.
To help you narrow down the options, our researchers compared auto insurance quotes from nine leading providers to find the best rates for the following driver categories:
Best Rates For Drivers With No Recent Accidents
If you’ve never caused a crash, you should be eligible for very cheap auto insurance in New Jersey if you find the right provider. Our Geeks determined that State Farm offers the best insurance quotes for safe drivers in NJ.
Best Rates For Teen Drivers
It goes without saying that young drivers are more accident-prone since they lack the experience to anticipate dangers on the road. If you’re searching for cheap car insurance for teens in New Jersey that meets the minimum coverage requirements, consider getting a quote from Allstate, the company that was found by our study to offer the most affordable rates for this driver category.
Best Rates For Drivers With A DUI
If you were convicted of drunk driving, you may have seen a major increase in your auto insurance premiums. But some companies are less harsh on drivers with a DUI or DWI conviction.
If you switch to one of the companies listed above, you might see a significant reduction in your monthly rates. We determined that Geico and Progressive offer the cheapest auto insurance in New Jersey for drivers with a DUI or DWI conviction.
Best Rates For Senior Drivers
Our hypothetical senior driver commuted 4,000 miles per year and was 65 years old. We averaged the rates for males and females and determined that Esurance offers the best rates.
A 29 year old is used as the default driver in most segments of our study. The annual mileage is 12,000 and the vehicle is a 2014 Toyota Corolla. The monthly premium estimates are based on average rates for females and males in five zip codes in NJ. The liability coverage limits used in all segments except for “teen drivers” was 50/100/25. Our estimates also include 50/100/25 for uninsured motorist coverage.
What Is The Minimum Car Insurance Required By Law In New Jersey?
The state of New Jersey is unique in that bodily injury coverage isn’t legally required in a Basic Policy. However, if you do not have this coverage, your insurance company will not cover claims made against you for bodily injuries that you cause in a collision.
$5,000 in property damage liability is required for all drivers, as is $15,000 per person / per accident in Personal Injury Protection.
New Jersey Car Insurance FAQs
What Are The Penalties For Driving Without Auto Insurance In New Jersey?
New Jersey has some of the most serious penalties in the country for driving without car insurance. Depending on the facts of your case, you could face a steep fine, surcharge assessment fee, community service, loss of license, vehicle impoundment, and incarceration. The specific penalties you face will depend on whether it is your first or subsequent offense.
For a first offense, you could be fined $300 to $1,000 and be ordered to pay a $250 surcharge for three years, totaling $750. You could also face a driver’s license suspension for one year and court-ordered community service. Your vehicle may also be impounded, in which case you would have to pay a $100 fee to retrieve it.
For a second or subsequent offense, the fine falls between $500 and $5,000. The three-year surcharge remains the same, but the maximum driver’s license suspension jumps to two years. You also face up to 180 hours of community service as well as up to 14 days in jail. Again, your vehicle may be impounded.