Finding low cost auto insurance in Ohio should be fairly straightforward in the Internet Age, but with so many companies promising the lowest premiums, the task is much more challenging than most people expect. At PennyGeeks, we decided to make the process easier by evaluating the insurance rates of nine leading providers.
The amount you pay for auto insurance depends on your driving history and dozens of other factors. To speed up your search, we estimated the lowest auto insurance quotes for the following types of drivers:
Best Rates For Drivers With No Recent Accidents
If you’ve been accident-free for five or more years, you might think that finding cheap car insurance in Ohio would be a breeze. But before you forego your rate comparison research, consider how much a small reduction in your premiums could save you over time.
With that in mind, it pays to compare quotes from multiple providers even if you’re a low-risk driver in the eyes of insurance companies. Our team recommends that you start with State Farm and Allstate.
Best Rates For Teen Drivers
Most teenagers can’t wait to get behind the wheel, but they soon find out that the privilege to drive comes at a cost. Insurance providers know that teens have a higher accident rate than other age groups, so they charge more for auto insurance. To find the cheapest auto insurance rates for teens in Ohio, we took the average of a female and male 18-year-old driver with a clean accident history who was looking for the minimum required insurance coverage.
Best Rates For Drivers With A DUI
Have you been convicted of OVI or DUI recently? If so, you can expect to pay more for insurance. But some companies place a lot more emphasis on OVI than others. Your premiums might decrease significantly if you make the switch to State Farm or Allstate.
Best Rates For Senior Drivers
Our researchers used a 65-year-old male and female driver to find the cheapest car insurance rates for seniors in Ohio. We determined that State Farm offers the best quotes at an estimated $63 per month. Allstate followed closely with estimated monthly premiums of $114.
We used a default motorist age 29 who commutes 12,000 miles per year in a 2014 Toyota Corolla. The default driver had a clean accident history from the previous five years. Our estimates are based on average premiums of males and females in five OH zip codes. Besides the teen driver part of our study, our team used liability coverage limits of 50/100/25 and also 50/100/25 limits for uninsured motorist coverage.
What Are The Minimum Auto Insurance Liability Limits In Ohio?
The minimum car insurance liability limits in Ohio are as follows:
- For Bodily Injury To One Individual: $25,000
- For Bodily Injury Per Accident: $50,000
- For Damage To Property: $25,000
Ohio Car Insurance FAQs
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Ohio?
Driving without insurance in the state of Ohio isn’t just illegal, it could result in serious penalties that will impact your ability to travel and find affordable coverage. If you’re stopped by authorities – whether it’s at a checkpoint or due to a traffic violation – law enforcement officers can, and will, request to see proof that your vehicle is insured up to the state’s minimum liability limits.
If your vehicle isn’t insured, penalties can include:
- Suspension of your vehicle’s plates and registration;
- Loss of your driving privileges for up to 2 years;
- SR-22 filing requirements;
- Fines to be determined by the courts; and
- Reinstatement and restoration fees up to $160 ($360 for your second offense, $660 for your third or subsequent offense).
What Are the SR-22 Filing Requirements in Ohio?
Traffic violations can result in severe penalties, including obligations to fulfill SR-22 filing requirements. An SR-22 is a form/certificate proving you, as an individual, are insured up to the state’s mandated liability limits. Typically, you would only be required to insure your vehicle, but committing offenses that result in the suspension of your license will result in requirements to fulfill this obligation before your driving privileges are restored.
You must find a provider offering this type of insurance who is also willing to file the SR-22 form/certificate with Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles on your behalf. Be warned: If you let your insurance lapse or end your coverage for any reason, your insurer is required by law to inform the Bureau your insurance has ended. If are no longer insured, your license and registration could be suspended. You will also have to start the SR-22 filing process from scratch.
Important Ohio Traffic Laws
Ohio Drunk Driving Laws
Between 2003 to 2012, nearly 3,700 people were killed in auto accidents involving at least one drunk driver in Ohio, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. It’s estimated that 1 in 3 accidents in the country involve someone who is under the influence. To combat this plight of road deaths, the state’s traffic code imposes strict penalties on anyone caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or more (0.02% for under 21 motorists, and 0.04% for motorists operating commercial vehicles). These include:
- Up to 6 months in prison (up to a year for serial offenders);
- Up to $1,000 in fines (up to $10,000 for repeat rulebreakers);
- 3-year license suspension (possible permanent driving ban for subsequent offenses); and
- Ignition Interlock Device installed in vehicle (for third and subsequent offenses).
An Ignition Interlock Device immobilizes your vehicle until you have completed a breathalyzer test and registered under the limit. If you the fail the test, your car won’t start and you will have to wait until the lockout period has expired before you can try again.
Ohio Seatbelt Laws
Wearing a seatbelt will reduce your chances of sustaining a fatal injury while on the road. By law, front seat passengers and drivers in the state are required to buckle up at all times while the vehicle is moving. Children aged 15 or younger must wear a seat belt or make use of a safety or booster seat even when sitting in the rear seats.
If you are caught travelling without a seatbelt – or officers discover the younger passengers in your vehicle are unbuckled – you could be fined up to $75.
Ohio Car Safety Seat Laws
A safety seat is designed to form a protective barrier between your little one and impact forces in a crash. By law, children under the age of 4 or who weigh less than 40lbs, must be restrained in an appropriate safety seat at all times while your vehicle is moving. Kids between ages 4 and 8, and shorter than 5-feet tall, must be seated in a booster seat. Children between ages 8 and 15 must always wear a safety belt. Remember: You, as the driver, are responsible for the safety of any minors in your car.
Ohio Distracted Driving Laws
Cellphones have become one of the most important items in our lives. But this useful gadget is also a portal to countless distractions. It’s estimated that 9 people are fatally injured every day in accidents involving drivers who weren’t paying attention to the road.
If you’re caught using your cellphone while driving, you could be fined and may receive points on your license. However, you are allowed to use your cellphone if you are making an emergency call to law enforcement, healthcare providers, or the fire department.
Am I a “High-Risk Driver?”
If you’re branded as a high-risk driver, you’re wearing the insurance world’s version of the scarlet letter. Not only does this label make it difficult to purchase a policy, you will also have to pay more for basic features than most other motorists. You could be categorized as a high-risk driver if you:
- Are a newly-licensed, inexperienced, or teen driver;
- Let your coverage to lapse in the past;
- Caused a serious accident(s);
- Were caught driving without insurance;
- Were convicted for driving under the influence; or
- Have a bad credit rating.
Can My Provider Cancel My Policy in Ohio?
The insurance industry functions – and turns a profit – by evaluating risk and adjusting rates, policy features, and other components of your coverage to reflect these risks. In certain situations, a provider will choose to cancel your policy rather than take on the liability of insuring you or your vehicle.
During the first two months of your coverage, your provider may choose to cancel your policy for nearly any reason. However, after this initial period is over, your carrier can still cancel your insurance policy if you:
- Lied about anything in order to obtain insurance;
- Missed payments on your premium;
- Used your vehicle commit criminal acts (illegal street racing, theft, etc.);
- Are convicted for reckless driving at least three times within a three-month period; or
- Are caught and convicted for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
5 Reasons Your Car Insurance Claim May Be Denied in Ohio
1. You Claimed Loss That Isn’t Covered by Your Policy
Your policy and its individual features cover certain types of loss. For example, a basic policy meeting the state’s minimum liability limits in Ohio would kick in to pay for part of any expenses related to injuries and property damage sustained in an accident with another motorist or object. However, if your car is damaged by a rampaging wildfire, your claim to cover repair costs would be denied because this type of loss is not listed on your policy. It’s important to understand what your auto insurance does and does not cover so that you don’t go through the arduous process of filing your claim only to discover you won’t be compensated.
2. You Took Too Long to File Your Claim
As soon as you are involved in an accident, the clock starts running. Insurers set strict time limits for motorists wishing to file claims. If this window has elapsed, you won’t be able to dip into your coverage to pay for your medical bill or repairs and your claim will be denied. Don’t drag your heels in the aftermath of a crash – the quicker you contact your insurer, the sooner you can secure compensation.
3. You Were Drinking or Using Drugs
Claims adjusters are meticulous when investigating your claim. If the official police report on the accident reveals that you were under the influence and over the limit, your provider will see this as a sign that you were at fault. In most situations, your claim will be denied.
4. You Missed Payments
Maintaining an insurance policy hinges on your ability to pay your premium on time. If you missed a payment, your coverage will either be cancelled by your provider or frozen until you have transferred the necessary funds. If you are involved in accident before resolving this outstanding payment, your insurer will deny your claim.
5. You Didn’t Seek Medical Treatment
When you file your claim, you want to present an accurate assessment of your medical costs. Seeking treatment for injuries sustained in an accident, however minor, will ensure that aren’t blindsided by additional costs once you have already been paid out.
What Is Ohio’s License Points System?
If you’re caught violating traffic laws, you could receive points on your license. These demerits will put you at risk of losing your driving privileges. But not all infractions are created equal. Points are dolled out in proportion to the severity of your transgressions. For example, if you’re caught speeding 10mph above the posted limit on a residential road, you will only receive 2 demerits. If officers spot you travelling 30mph over the limit, you’ll receive 4 points.
Points for a given violation are erased automatically after 2 years. If you accumulate 12 points or more, your driver’s license could be suspended or revoked for six months. To reinstate your driving privileges after the suspension period has lapsed, you will need to complete a driver’s education class, present proof of insurance to the relevant department, and retake your driver’s test.