It’s easy to feel lost in the shuffle when you’re searching for cheap auto insurance rates in Oregon. With dozens of companies to choose from and countless discounts to consider, it’s not easy to noodle out the best rates for your particular needs and budget.
At PennyGeeks, we decided to make the process a whole lot easier by conducting a study based on quote data from nine leading insurance providers to find the best rates for:
Best Rates For Drivers With No Recent Accidents
How many accidents have you caused in the past five years? If “zero” was your answer, you should be able to find very cheap auto insurance in Oregon by getting quotes from State Farm or Allstate. If you don’t fall into this safe driver group just yet, make it a point to compare insurance quotes periodically to find out if you could be paying less by switching to a different provider.
Best Rates For Teen Drivers
Our analysis found Allstate to be the most affordable car insurance company for teenagers in Oregon. Our data is based on the state’s minimum insurance requirements. We estimated the auto insurance premiums for 18-year-old drivers from five OR zip codes. The quotes listed above are based on averages from male and female teens.
Best Rates For Drivers With A DUI
Just because you drove under the influence once doesn’t mean you’ll do it again. Unfortunately, your insurance premiums are based on the statistical likelihood that you’ll file an accident claim, so that one-time mistake could wind up costing you thousands in higher insurance rates for many years.
Luckily, Progressive and Allstate tend to offer low cost auto insurance in Oregon to drivers who have one DUI conviction. Make sure you compare quotes from both providers to make the most informed decision.
Best Rates For Senior Drivers
If you’re looking for cheap car insurance for seniors in Oregon, try comparing quotes from State Farm and Allstate. Our data is based on the estimated premiums of a 65-year-old male and female driver who commutes 4,000 miles per year.
The vehicle used in our analysis is a 2014 Toyota Corolla. The default annual mileage is 12,000, and our default driver is 29 years old. The estimates for each driver type are based on the average premiums of males and females from five Oregon zip codes. We used 50/100/25 liability coverage limits and 50/100/25 uninsured motorist coverage limits for all categories except teenage drivers.
How Much Auto Insurance Coverage Are Motorists In Oregon Required To Purchase?
In Oregon, it is a legal requirement for all drivers to have car insurance that covers the following minimum limits:
- $25,000 For Bodily Injury Per Person / $50,000 Per Collision
- $20,000 For Property Damage
- $15,000 In Personal Injury Protection
- $25,000 In Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage Per Person / $50,000 Per Collision
Penalties For Driving Without Car Insurance In Oregon
Oregon’s roads wind through scenic vistas and lead to lush parks and quaint towns. But if you’re driving without insurance, they could take you straight to jail.
Nearly 1 in 10 of Oregon’s drivers are uninsured. Those coverage dodgers are risking hefty fines, time behind bars and learning to live without a license.
The state’s Department of Motor Vehicles now makes use of a database of auto insurance records to keep track of who is making legal use of the nation’s tar. If the system detects that your insurance has lapsed, you will be requested to provide proof of insurance to show that your vehicle’s coverage meets the state minimums.
If you fail to do so, your license plates will be suspended. You’ll be forced to fork over a small fee and present proof of up-to-date liability coverage to the Department to get your car back on the road. However, if you’re caught by authorities behind the wheel without insurance, you could face even more severe penalties:
If it is your first time being caught behind the wheel of a car without insurance, you will be charged with a Class B traffic violation and fined between $130 and $1,000. You will then be mandated to provide proof of insurance for a minimum period of three years.
On a second or subsequent offense you, will be strapped with a minimum fine of $427, and your license will be suspended for a period of one year. You will need to pay a fee and provide evidence of a current insurance policy to have your license reinstated.
What If I Was Partially At Fault?
Due to Oregon’s comparative or contributory negligence rule, you may still be able to recover compensation for damages even if you were partially to blame for causing the accident. For example, if the court finds that you were 30% at fault for the accident, you may recover up to 70% of your damages from the guilty party. However, if it is determined that you are at least 50% to blame, you are not entitled to any compensation.
Common Mistakes To Avoid After A Car Accident In Oregon
1. Admitting Fault
It’s tempting to try to defuse a stressful situation by admitting fault, but doing so could sink your hopes of filing a successful claim. Yes, it might look like it’s your fault, but often a crash is more complicated than meets the eye. The other motorist may have been driving in the wrong lane, making an illegal turn or even driving under the influence of alcohol.
2. Not Keeping A Record
Whether it’s an email chain between you and your insurer or a copy of the police report, ensure that you document every step of the process. A written record is a precious resource that will help you prove your case and avoid a liability dispute.
3. Foregoing The Medical Evaluation
You feel fine, right? Unfortunately, as evolved as the human anatomy may be, we’re not designed to detect certain injuries that will later wreak havoc with our lives. Fortunately, your doctor can conduct scans and tests to determine whether you were seriously hurt in a crash.
For example, while you may not be feeling any discomfort right now, even a small crash can put untold strain on your neck, leading to debilitating pain that requires expensive procedures and medication to treat.